cutting on the action

photography and film – facts, ideas, values

FILM DIRECTOR Bela Tarr








I don’t understand, because you use this poetical word “metaphor.” You have to know that a movie is the most simple thing in the world. If you are a writer and you have an ashtray like the one I have in front of me now, you can write 20 pages about this ashtray, with metaphors and symbols, you can say a lot of theoretical things, because everything depends on the imagination of the reader.

But I am a filmmaker; I have just the concrete, definitive ashtray. And the question is how am I able to show you the ashtray. In this case, I’m able to develop emotions from you, but it’s always physical, concrete, and clear. I cannot use any metaphors. I cannot use any symbols. What I have are just some lenses, which are objective. I tell you and show you real things.



Bela Tarr in an an interview with Fionn Meade in 2007 at the time of the release of his last film, The Man from London



March 18, 2010 - Posted by | Bela Tarr

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

