cutting on the action

photography and film – facts, ideas, values

Nearly finished? {3} – Raymond Chandler



From the moment I picked your book up until I laid it down I was convulsed with laughter. Someday I intend reading it.

Groucho Marx, on S.J. Perlman’s first book

I try to leave out the parts that people skip.

Elmore Leonard

Having paraphrased the Raymond Chandler quote about almost writers, which does exist somewhere, and later ogling for it without success, came across this page by Mark Coggins – himself a private dick novelist – about a visit he made to the Bodleian Library to look at Chandler’s papers. Good stuff.

I can’t understand why a person will take a year to write a novel when he can easily buy one for a few dollars.

Fred Allen

There’s nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and open a vein.

Red Smith

In a very real sense, the writer writes in order to teach himself, to understand himself, to satisfy himself.

Alfred Kazin

Any writer overwhelmingly honest about pleasing himself is almost sure to please others.

Marianne Moore

A book is a mirror; if an ass peers into it, you can’t expect an apostle to peer out.

Georg Christoph Lichtenberg

If I read a book that impresses me, I have to take myself firmly in hand before I mix with other people; otherwise they would think my mind rather queer.

Anne Frank

The reason one writes isn’t the fact he wants to say something. He writes because he has something to say.

F. Scott Fitzgerald

{1} {2}


February 18, 2008 - Posted by | Writing | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

