cutting on the action

photography and film – facts, ideas, values

From the blogosphere




Somewhere came across the widget from BlogRush, but since it seems in free WordPress blogging you have to use the ones they give you, BlogRush not being amongst them, its now in Moleskine Modality. I’m not so sure its a good idea; every time I load MM it is impossible not to check some of the sites in the panel. But I did come across a lit blog (or blit if you don’t like the hard g) I haven’t seen before: One Minute book Reviews by author Janice Harayda.

The 24 September 07 post (she writes about the Man Booker prize in 4 posts )

Dumbing Down the Man Booker Prize — Finalist Lloyd Jones Writes at a Third-Grade Level in ‘Mister Pip,’ Microsoft Word Readability Stats Show

teaches me something: Word has a gizmo that allows a piece of text to tested for Flesch-Kincaid Reading Grade Level (US High school grades). Pity I use OpenOffice. Though there is Check Text Readability

This won’t get the baby bathed. Have to pop off to find a wodge of Maurice Blanchot or maybe Derrida to see if he’s is on the scale.


October 11, 2007 - Posted by | Blanchot, check text readability, fiction, Man Booker prize | , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. I can’t thank you enough for this link. From my perspective, “Dumbing Down the Man Booker Prize” is one of the most newsworthy posts I’ve written. It got a lot of traffic when I put it up, but I may have posted it too soon (that is, maybe should have waited until closer to the Oct. 16 ceremony). It’s still getting attention but I suspect will get buried by the news that Doris Lessing has won the Nobel Prize in Literature (glad as I am to see her get it). I’m so grateful to you for helping to keep the post in view.

    This experience made me think about a question on which some of your visitors may want to comment: Does the timing of a post matter? Have you ever held back a post so that it would appear at the best time?
    Jan Harayda
    One-Minute Book Reviews

    Comment by 1minutebookreviewswordpresscom | October 11, 2007 | Reply

  2. Enjoy you site very much. Just read the Lessing news from you.

    Most of my blitting (lit blogging) is at moleskine modality. Fearful of trying to upgrade in blogger to get categories, I am trying wordpress, which is impressive. If you put enough tags and categories in its a pretty good database! No need to be bespoke.

    Did you see the link to Check Text Readability? You get 3 scales for your bucks there. Did a small piece of Blanchot and got a -7. Whatever will happen with Derrida?

    Comment by adferoafferro | October 11, 2007 | Reply

  3. P.S.

    You can never be too early on these things; you can be too late. Is that a correct use of ; ?

    Comment by adferoafferro | October 11, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

